2 thoughts on “2014 Paper a Day 22: St George Girls Ext 2 2013

  1. If a hypothetical question for mechanics said resistance was proportional to v^2, do you it as a force or just acceleration?

    so ma = mg – v^2 or would it be ma = mg – mv^2?

  2. It depend if this hypothetical question ends up with a show that….

    If mass is mentioned in the answer I would say it is a force, because I would divide through by m, leaving me with k/m, so m would end up in the answer.

    If mass is not mentioned in the answer I would say acceleration, now when I divide through by m I am left with km/m i.e. k, no m in the answer.

    If it is NOT a show that, then it does not matter as k/m OR k is a constant either way.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *